Weekly Inspiration: Tea and Cake.

Hello! This is a weekly feature where I share my photos with you. I carry my camera everywhere, and I constantly take pictures of things that excite me. Prepare to see lots of colours and patterns through my lens.

Firstly, let me clarify that these photos were not taken in the space of one week. (Sadly, I am not able to make – or eat – that much cake!) Instead, this is a round up of a month of sweet, delicious photos taken in London and in York. If you’re into cake, then you must visit York – there were quaint tea shops tucked around every corner, with piles of cake beckoning from the window displays. Here were some of my favourite places to eat at and photograph:

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-08Tarts & Tidbits is a delicatessen with retro window illustrations and loads of tasty things inside. It’s on the same street as The Cafe 68 Gillygate (See below!).

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-06

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-15

Macarons and marzipan mice at Betty’s Cafe, an old-school York tea and cake establishment.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-09

The Cafe 68 Gillygate had a table at the window which was laden with tall, colourfully frosted cakes. I couldn’t get a proper photo for two reasons. Firstly, there was too much glare on the glass, and secondly, I was too hungry for cake.  I had an enormous slab of amazing caramel apple cake (above), and my boyfriend had a chocolate mint cake which was so rich that he couldn’t finish it. So I helped him.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-14

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-07

Meanwhile, back in London, I went for coffee at Mamacita in West Hampstead. It has a wall which is plastered in images of Frida Kahlo imagery, and cups in the perfect shade of green!

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-03

I also did a bunch of baking this month. Below is Mary Berry’s classic Victoria Sandwich cake…which I made less classic by using rose jam instead of strawberry. It was totally delicious, and also quite photogenic.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-01

The birthday cake below is the most kitsch creation I have ever been involved with. It was a joint effort with my friend Simone, who baked and iced the whole thing – a 3-layered coconut custard cake. I was responsible for the ‘Meow’, the fluoro candles and the paper decorations. I just can’t do subtle however hard I try (although, frankly, I’m not trying).

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-02This next cake is another example of my non-subtlety. I took a plain vanilla sponge recipe and added sprinkles to the batter for a rainbow effect. The sprinkles dissolve while baking, so it didn’t end up all crunchy.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-10

The rainbow cake was for my boyfriend’s nephew who was turning 5. When making a birthday cake for a little boy, it seems totally legit to go overboard with the food colouring and sprinkles and…a whole packet of Haribo.Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-11Last but not least, a tea-stop at the V&A cafe, possibly my favourite cafe in London.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-12 Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour26-13

There’s only one item missing from this post, and that’s my Cake & Canvas adventure at Bea’s of Bloomsbury. Read about it here!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Inspiration: Tea and Cake.

  1. Holy moly that is a lot of cake! :) I have no cake :( I might have to go eat a cinnamon pop tart :/ It’s not quite the same though :)
    (I know I’ve followed you on twitter for ages, but for some reason I’ve never seen your blog until today, and I’m loving it! CAAAKKKEEEE! :)).

Leave a Reply

