Return to Oz

Darren of Ghostheart Studios is making an 80s cult films zine, and has invited artists to submit artwork. I immediately knew which movie I wanted to draw: Return to Oz. As a kid, I watched a lot of scary movies with my brother (e.g. Friday the 13th), but none of them scar(r)ed me – and delighted me – as much as Return to Oz. The effect still hasn’t worn off.

I created a poster-style drawing, trying to capture the mood and visual style of the film. The colours on the ‘poster’ are vibrant and lively, but also somewhat murky and grim – just like the film. I based my image on the freakiest part of the film, where Dorothy sneaks into Princess Mombi’s chamber of heads, in order to steal her powder of life:

I really enjoyed working on this drawing, especially because I got to revisit one of my favourite films. I can’t wait to see what the other artists have produced! Watch this space for updates!

6 thoughts on “Return to Oz

Leave a Reply

