Weekly Inspiration: Happy New Year!

Hello! This is a weekly feature where I share my photos with you. I carry my camera everywhere, and I’m always taking pictures of things that inspire me. Prepare to see lots of colours, patterns and good times through my lens!

Happy 2013, guys! What did you get up to on new year’s eve? We had a little party in our flat. I made a lot of cake, as usual. There were lots of bright and kitschy decorations…as usual. Have a look:

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-05Vasilopita is a traditional Greek new year’s eve cake. It’s usually a simple orange sponge cake, but I took it to new, technicolour heights. I’m not sure my mum would approve.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-03Lemon cupcakes with blueberry frosting, inspired by this recipe.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-01I got a lot of Turkish Delight chocolate for Christmas, so I baked a bar of it into chocolate brownies. I highly recommend it!

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-04Earl Grey scented cupcakes with clementine frosting. (The cake recipe is from here, but I made a simpler frosting: icing sugar, butter, and the juice and zest of 2 clementines.)

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-07The food table at our party. Yum, yum, yum, yum.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-13Midnight! Every year, we welcome the new year by banging on pots and pans with wooden spoons (and potato mashers, tongs, and any other utensil we can find).

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-08Party poppers! We like to party like it’s 1993.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-12A doorway-ful of streamers.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-09We love a bit of neon.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-02Some gorgeous, gorgeous wine packaging.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-11The morning after was beautifully sunny…and totally messy.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour14-10

May your 2013 be filled with cake, friends, sunshine and happiness.


One thought on “Weekly Inspiration: Happy New Year!

  1. Kali Chronia!!!! Our Vasilopita was transformed into Vasilo-brownies!!! Michael invited a group of friends also home from college and we rang in the new year together with them. Michael’s best friend Josh has a dairy food allergy so we modified the tradition so he could participate – and he won the coin!!! Love to all of you.

Leave a Reply

