Weekly Inspiration: Markets and Museums.

Hello! This is a weekly feature where I share my photos with you. I carry my camera everywhere, and I’m always taking pictures of things that inspire me. Prepare to see lots of colours, patterns and good times through my lens!

This is meant to be a weekly feature but I’ve been oh so busy over the last…er…month. To apologise, I’m giving you a mega-mashup of my favourite photos from February. They include a couple of market trips (to East London and Camden Passage) and some colourful ones taken at home. Also, because I’m feeling extra-generous, there’s a bonus video at the end. Oh yes. Enjoy!

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-05For the record, I don’t think the East End sucks. I love it. I spent a freeeezing Sunday walking around Brick Lane and Spitalfields Market, snapping at street art and old-school bric-a-brac.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-04A sneaky self portrait taken in a vintage mirror.
Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-06My flat is often full of rainbows. (I’ve got crystals on my windows, you see.)

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-14

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-09

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-02More pictures after the jump.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-03Below: Vintage markets and retro cafes at Camden Passage markets.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-11

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-12Isn’t this cafe so cool? The waiters all had rockabilly quiffs and 50s clothing. Amazing! I particularly like the cat clocks:

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-13Below: A hand-coloured print from 1839. Isn’t it beautiful?

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-10I also went to the Natural History Museum again, as I’ve been helping out with some photography. (Click here to see what I’ve been doing there.)

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-17

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-15

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-16

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-07Snack time at home! My Canadian friend introduced me to ants on a log and I’ve never looked back.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour18-08

Now. Picture this: It’s a Saturday night. A bunch of friends are eating, drinking, and playing some boardgames (yes, really). One of those friends is the film maker behind Kaned + Able,  Thomas Stimson. He’s brought his video camera. We start discussing internet memes. And then…well, then this happened:


In case you missed it, the video features: An Alien chestburster toy worn like a scarf, an apron, two Australian animal oven mitts, An ice-cream-shaped shower cap, A Darth Vader suit, underpants worn over jeans, a flowing beard, and bananas wielded like swords. And a football scarf. And a doorstop.

P.S  I’ve worked with Kaned + Able on numerous projects in the past, and I can confirm that they were a lot more highbrow.

Right, see you next week!

 

Leave a Reply

