Beetles! Photographing Gold & Stripes.

Hello! This is part of my Natural History Museum series – I’ve been taking photos for the beetles department (officially known as the ‘Coleoptera section of the Terrestrial Invertebrates Division’)! I will be sharing my favourite images with you every week, so stay tuned!

Today I’m showcasing some stripy, golden beauties (click here for a detailed close-up). Aren’t they stunning? I love the contrast of soft metallic gold vs. glossy black stripes and swooping antennae. Have a look:

Helena-Maratheftis-gold-stripes1

Helena-Maratheftis-gold-stripes3Helena-Maratheftis-gold-stripes5My (accidentally) matching gold nails and black ring.Helena-Maratheftis-gold-stripes2

Helena-Maratheftis-gold-stripes4

IMG_7059

Nature: Just Too Cool. When I stumble across specimens like these, I can’t help but marvel at how much style nature has. I’m a complete sucker for shiny metallics and bold stripes (in case ya hadn’t noticed), so it’s nice to know that I share the same tastes as mother nature!   Those are my hands in the photos – I happened to be wearing matching nail polish and jewellery on this particular day, which made me extra excited.

Click here to see other Beetles! posts in this series.

6 thoughts on “Beetles! Photographing Gold & Stripes.

  1. They’re beautiful, aren’t they? I’ve been doing a lot of photography for the Natural History Museum in London so I get to see a lot of pretty ones up close!

  2. Beautiful photos! Beetles are fascinating. They occasionally become the subject matter of my welded metal sculpture. Check out my facebook artist’s page @LockhartMetalArt.

Leave a Reply

