Beetles! The Cheeky Butterfly Edition.

Hello! This is part of my Natural History Museum series – I’ve been taking photos for the beetles department (aka the ‘Coleoptera section of the Terrestrial Invertebrates Division’). I will be sharing my favourite images with you every week!

Last week at the museum, I was looking through drawers of new specimens when I stumbled across trays of butterflies. It was a surprise to find them in the beetles department – butterflies are not beetles! They’re classed as lepidoptera, and they have their own museum hangout! However, after weeks of looking at compact little beetles, I was struck by the sheer novelty of broad, soft wings. I couldn’t help but whip my camera back out of my bag to take a few quick snaps.

Helena-Maratheftis-butterflies-tanzania-07

Helena-Maratheftis-butterflies-tanzania-04

Helena-Maratheftis-butterflies-tanzania-01

Helena-Maratheftis-butterflies-tanzania-02

Helena-Maratheftis-butterflies-tanzania-05

Helena-Maratheftis-butterflies-tanzania-09

Helena-Maratheftis-butterflies-tanzania-06

These particular butterflies were brought back from Tanzania. Aren’t they beautiful? I love the vibrant colours and crisp black lines and fuzzy little bodies. There’s just something so non-threatening about them, which probably explains why they’re loved by even the most passionate  of insect-haters. How can you hate something so delicate and good-looking? It’s just not possible.

Leave a Reply

