Wedding Illustrations: Cities of lurrrve!

OK, so, here’s the truth: Some illustration projects are more fun than others. This one was definitely one of my favourites, and I’ve been dying to show it to you!

I created a series of ten framed drawings for the wedding of Tom and Sophie, one for each table at the reception. The couple asked me to draw the cities that they have visited together, including where they got engaged, where they live, and where they where they went to university. They sent me a list of things they did in each city (mainly revolving around drinking, ahem!) so that I could incorporate them into my illustrations. I love projects where I can add lots of tiny details and personal touches, so this was right up my street.

Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-1bNo. 1 Tom asked Sophie to marry him in art deco bar in Sofia, Bulgaria. (She said yes.)
Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-2No. 2 Living and studying in London, England (hence the fruit flies and microscopes).

Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-3No. 3 Sophie and Tom went on a train trip around Europe, which involved ‘flat bums and lots of queues’.
Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-4bNo. 4 NYC, USA! A holiday involving lots and lots and lots of shopping and sightseeing!Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-5 No. 5 Oxford, England. Studying, punting, and drinking, drinking, drinking.Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-6No. 6 A holiday in Tokyo, with ‘lots of temples and sushi’Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-7 No. 7 A trip to Berlin, where Sophie and Tom drank cocktails by the river in Traditional German Beach Chairs.Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-8No. 8 Barcelona, Spain. Swimming, beaches and Gaudi!

Helena-Maratheftis-table-numbers-collageSophie and Tom wanted to decorate the wedding venue very simply, with floral bouquets and my illustrations giving colour to the room. The colour scheme for the wedding was apple green, orange, and berry pinks – I was so happy that my drawings perfectly matched the floral arrangements on the tables, as you can see below!

Helena-Maratheftis-wedding-numbers-small-bloomsAfter the wedding, Tom and Sophie told me that they’re planning to hang the illustrations in their living room, to remind them of their wedding day. What a sweet, lovely idea! I’m so pleased that they were happy with my work.

Congratulations, Tom & Sophie!

5 thoughts on “Wedding Illustrations: Cities of lurrrve!

  1. Pingback: Happy Anniversary: A Comic Strip. | THEFTY

Leave a Reply

