Weekly Inspiration: Shapes and Colours at Kew Gardens.

Hello! This is a weekly feature where I share my photos with you. I carry my camera everywhere, and I constantly take pictures of things that excite me. Prepare to see lots of colours and patterns through my lens.

This weekend I visited Kew Gardens and it was a complete visual assault, of the best kind. As far as I’m concerned, nature is the best source of inspiration. You already know that I’m crazy about beetles, but as an equal opportunities nature lover, I’m also a big fan of plants – the bigger and brighter (and weirder) the better. Here are some of my favourite photos from Kew:

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-01The next few photos were taken inside the Victorian palm house, which was the biggest glass house I’d ever seen. It was filled with warm, humid air as well as exotic plants from all over the world. I would quite happily live in there.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-08Sunlight passing through leaves never gets boring, I say. Luminous colours are the best colours.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-07This is the Chenille plant, Acalypha hispida. Can you even believe this thing exists? It looks like a pre-decorated Christmas tree, laden with long, fuzzy strands of hot pink tinsel. I couldn’t stop looking at it.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-09

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-05We climbed to the top of the palm house on this spiral, wrought iron staircase. Below: the view from the top.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-04

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-13I loved these tiny, star-shaped flowers which had 5 stamens apiece. They were barely a half centimetre wide, yet so exquisitely detailed. This is where the phrase ‘small, yet perfectly formed’ comes in.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-11In the rose garden, fat little bumble bees were having a pollen party. They were so noisy!

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-12

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-14Meanwhile, in the tropical exhibition, I came across this dude just hanging out on his rock. I don’t understand people who don’t like lizards. Lizards are just so cool (even more so when they have apple-green scales).

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-15

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-10Pineapple plants look like a practical joke.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-02Bubbly, lumpy, waxy leaves…and dramatic, red flowers. Gorgeous.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour225-06Have you ever been to Kew? What was your favourite part?

One thought on “Weekly Inspiration: Shapes and Colours at Kew Gardens.

Leave a Reply

