Weekly Inspiration: Visual Overload in Rome.

Hello! This is a weekly feature where I share my photos with you. I carry my camera everywhere, and I constantly take pictures of things that excite me. Prepare to see lots of colours and patterns through my lens.

I spent last week on holiday in Rome. There was so, so much to see! It was an overwhelming bombardment of colours and patterns and forms, a total visual feast. As expected, my camera shutter finger was on rapid-fire mode , and I came home with many reminders of the beautiful things I’d seen. Most of the photos below were taken in the streets of Rome, or the Vatican Museums and St. Peter’s Basilica. As usual, I’ve focused on small details that caught my eye, so don’t expect a tour guide to Rome and the Vatican!
Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-05

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-08

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-10

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-06

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-07

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-09

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-11

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-12Above: Tapestries and frescoes in the Vatican Museums. The ornate ceilings are just…off the charts. If I had to paint something while lying on my back, I’d just end up with a splattered face. The mosaics also blow my mind, with their luminous colours and level of intricacy. I was seriously impressed.

Below: A few impressions of St. Peter’s Basilica. My boyfriend made me climb up the (several hundred) stairs to get a view from the top. It was incredible, but it was also very hot and I may or may not have done a lot of whining. Anyway, to the point: Wow. When I see things like this, I think ‘damn! Humans are awesome!’ (And, yes, I do see the irony in using the word ‘damn’ to express my feelings about a church.)

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-16

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-15
Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-17

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-18

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-04

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-24Above: A coat of arms seen in the street. I’ve been a wee bit obsessed with coats of arms since I started working on this. I wish I knew who this coat of arms belonged to, and what it symbolises.

Below: the enormous domed ceiling of The Pantheon. The large, circular hole in the ceiling lets in light…as well as rain.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-25

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-13

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour-rome-26

Ah, Rome. Apart from the sights, the gelato is so good. I’m not worried, though – I chucked a coin in the Trevi Fountain, of course, so I’m expecting to back soon. (I hope.)

2 thoughts on “Weekly Inspiration: Visual Overload in Rome.

  1. I loved the ceilings too! No one seemed to be noticing them, I didn’t at first, and then I was like ‘hang on that is all painted’. I stopped my boyfriend and made him look, and everyone else (our friends included) were just glancing at the walls and things in cabinets, impatient to get to the Sistine Chapel, and we were like ‘look at the freaking ceilings!!!’ My favourite part of the Sistine Chapel itself were the painted draped fabric on the walls! :)

  2. I know, right! I’m so glad my camera has a rotating LCD screen, or my neck would’ve been in agony be the end. There was just SO MUCH to look at!

Leave a Reply

