Weekly Inspiration: Bright Lights & Watermelons.

Hello! This is a weekly feature where I share my photos with you. I carry my camera everywhere, and I constantly take pictures of things that excite me. Prepare to see lots of colours and patterns through my lens.

This week I dressed as an electrical storm, carried a watermelon, got a bunch of sunflowers, accommodated a kitsch armchair in my flat, and danced under a ceiling of lightbulbs. Here’s the evidence:

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-02

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-05

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-03

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-04
Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-06

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-07

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-08

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-01

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolour27-09That floral armchair is a masterpiece of kitsch, yes? It’s hideous, with frills on the bottom and shrunken, faded upholstery, but I won’t lie: I love it. How did I end up with it in my flat? Well…

My boyfriend found The Armchair on the side of the road about 8 years ago, on the streets of his student town. He and a friend pushed it home (in a downpour, no less) and I’m shocked it  didn’t die a mouldy death shortly thereafter. After graduation, my boyfriend somehow convinced his parents to take it home, and the chair was tucked in a room at the far end the house (i.e. hidden).

We’d see it every time we visited, and the chair acquired its own mythology. Over the years, I sort of fell in love with the chair and its story. That, ladies and gents, is called Stockholm Syndrome, and it explains how I ended up agreeing to be the new owner of this thing. Truth be told, it totally fits in with the kitschy rainbow that is my flat. I mean, seriously, it looks right at home next to my painting and purple chest of drawers.

p.s. This was meant ot go up last Friday but there was a technical glitch…so you might be getting two batches of photos this week!

Leave a Reply

