WEEKLY INSPIRATION: Happy New Year!

Hello! This is a weekly feature where I share my photos with you. I carry my camera everywhere, and I constantly take pictures of things that excite me. Prepare to see lots of colours and patterns through my lens.

Happy new year! My 2014 began with disco balls and dancing dinosaurs, good friends and good times. We celebrated with a party in my flat, where the dress code was over-the-top glamour. As expected, there were plenty of tuxes and sequinned dresses, but there was at least one person in a dinosaur onesie (including a gold bowtie, naturally).

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-09I took the opportunity to go full neon-kitsch with the decorations, opting for silver streamer curtains, pink flamingos, rainbow tablecloths and fluoro cocktail glasses. Too much going on? PAH. #MoreIsMore #MaximalistForLife

Below is my Vasilopita, which is a traditional Greek New Year’s Eve cake. It is traditionally a plain sponge cake, and I obviously felt the need to add chocolate and colourful sprinkles.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-03

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-05

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-04I got a disco ball for Christmas, which is pretty much a lifelong dream come true (I wish I were joking). The gnome was also a gift – he came plain white, and I spray-painted him because that is the sort of thing I do. Gnomes aside, I was very excited to wear my rainbow sequin dress for two reasons. Firstly, it is a rainbow sequinned dress. Secondly, it was given to me by my elderly neighbour who used to wear it in her youth, so it’s extra special to me.Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-17

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-06

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-08

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-12

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-10As you can see, I wasn’t lying about the dinosaur onesie. Turns out dinos have all the moves, as well as a taste for champagne.

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-13

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-11

Finally, here’s a glimpse of our Christmas tree. It’s gold, it’s shiny, and it’s ridiculous…which is exactly how I like it. Most of the baubles are gifts from friends, which makes me extra happy.Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-14

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-15

Helena-Maratheftis-weekincolourNYE2013-18Happy new year, everyone!

Thank you so much for following this blog, and for all your likes and comments. It’s been a bit quiet around here recently, but it’s only because I’ve been busy cooking up a bunch of new projects. I look forward to showing you lots of new and colourful things in 2014.

2 thoughts on “WEEKLY INSPIRATION: Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

