Green Screening: Photography with a little somethin’ extra.

Hello! Did I tell you I published a book? Well, I did…sort of.

These images are from a personal publishing project completed in April. They are the result of a dress-up photo shoot set against a green screen backdrop (actually a cheap tarpaulin, ahem) + a fair bit of unsubtle image manipulation. I created the images as a special gift for a friend who – despite being in the photo shoot – had no clue what I was going to do with the photos! The final set of images were published in a beautiful, glossy, hard backed book using the excellent Blurb BooksHere is a tiny selection of my favourite shots*:

Helena-Maratheftis-green-screen-FBset-06bHelena-Maratheftis-green-screen-02b

Helena-Maratheftis-green-screen-04b

Helena-Maratheftis-green-screen-03b

Helena-Maratheftis-green-screen-01b

Below: one of the ‘before’ shots, where you can see the faaancy green screen in the background.

Helena-Maratheftis-green-screen-FBset-07b

Things I discovered while making this book: I really like making books. Apart from the sheer playful joy of taking photos and creating composite images (some of which featured gorillas and robots), I loved designing the layout of the 50+ pages. I’d happily do it again, so if any of you are feeling inspired…you know who to call!

*re. pixellation: This is partly for my friends’ internet anonymity, but also because I like occasional dramatic use of Photoshop filters. (The images in the published book are uncensored, of course, because a memento with unrecognisable faces is a useless memento.)

Leave a comment