Beetles! A new collection at the NHM.

Hello! Welcome to my Beetles! series. I take photos for the beetles department at the Natural History Museum (aka the ‘Coleoptera section of the Terrestrial Invertebrates Division’). There are plenty of photos to share. Stay tuned!

Last week was extra-exciting, as the team unveiled thousands of new specimens acquired for the museum collection. I was invited to take a peek at the new material…and encouraged to take lots of pictures, as usual. Here are some of my favourites. (You’ll be entirely shocked to discover that my favourites were the most heavily coloured and patterned beetles of the bunch!)

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-04

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-06

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-03Jade greens and dusty blues…spots and stripes and abstract prints…gloss and matte and metallic finishes… these little guys give me so much inspiration for my artwork. They are just too cool.

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-02

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-09Row after row of little white boxes, filled with specimens from all around the globe. These will soon be integrated with the museum’s current collection.

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-08

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-07

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-11

Helena-Maratheftis-NHM-new-collection-600-10

I’ll be adding some more photos from this batch to the museum’s Flickr page, so make sure to have a look!

Click here to see other Beetles! posts in this series.

Leave a comment